My First Kittyknitter Blog!

Ah, Blog Number One – Fresh starts are so nice.

Thanks for coming to my page! I am a trap-neuter-release volunteer in Phoenix, working with the cooperation of AzCats and Altered Tails, located on Hatcher Road and 11th Avenue.

I am also a knitter, working in a collective with a couple friends under the name Bewilderknits. A portion of my pieces are made solely to provide money for the trap-neuter-release effort: my items from the Kittyknitter Box go 100% towards a donation to Altered Tails. When I trap and bring in a stray cat to be altered, to prevent fighting and reproduction, a minimum donation is required in order to keep these organizations operating. I am setting up pricing so that the sale of one item from the Kittyknitter Box equals precisely enough money to sterilize one stray cat.

I hope this will work out to be a win-win situation: I get to knit, someone else (maybe you?) gets to use a hand-made item, a cat gets free birth control for life, and I get to participate in improving my neighborhood.

Pieces will be up for sale shortly on our Etsy sites! BewilderknitsGwynne.etsy.com will be my store, and I will set up a special section called the Kittyknitter Box.

Here are some photos from our first trap, neuter & release project a couple weeks ago:

Our experience was some work, but was really worth it – it worked out smoothly and we caught 10 cats. They are all “back at home” in their current environments now, just new and improved.

~ by kittyknitter on March 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “My First Kittyknitter Blog!”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Good job! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

 
