Learned to Spin Wool!

Sometime soon here I’ll be able to post some pictures of my first-spun yarns! I spun two of them in a knitting class with my friends Sam, Jodie, Karen & Cora at Tempe Yarn & Fiber. For one yarn, I spun a couple staples of orange and then switched to a variegated brown and orange and went back and forth for the whole yarn. Then for my other yarn, I spun a couple staples of yellowy avocado and then switched to a variegated minty green color.

When I was done, I plied them all together and it worked out and turned into a sort of candy-cane striped chunky funky thick-and-thin yarn of 70’s couch colors!

Of course, now I am on the hunt for a great robust starter spinning wheel that will also look good in my house. I’ve read terrific reviews of the Schacht Ladybug. I am also looking at the Lendrum – I’d have to buy the kit that comes with the bulky flyer. But I’d also have to buy the bulky/plying flyer for the Ladybug too, which hasn’t quite yet been released but is due to come out this summer.

If this little girl can do it on the Ladybug, maybe I can too:

~ by kittyknitter on July 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
